Campus rape crisis story scores Salonee Mistry the top Mojo award

Mojo Awards co-hosts Matt Johnson and Mojo editor Matilda Boseley. Picture: Ouyang Renyuan

Salonee Mistry last night look out the Gold Mojo award for most outstanding story of the year in any medium at the 2018 Mojo Awards.

Salonee Mistry was a . major winner last night. Picture: Ouyang Renyuan

Her story looked at the fallout from a plan for the controversial Bettina Arndt to talk at LaTrobe University, in which she described the widely discussed campus rape culture a “fake”.

Scoring the second of the major awards of the  night was Mojo’s TV editor Chester Ngan, who was named Most Valuable Contributor for his phenomenal work both on Mojo and satirical TV and web show The Struggle.

The awards showcased a remarkable year for Mojo News, with the introduction of The Struggle, a major expansion of podcasting, and continuing excellence in video and text.

At the awards night, it was announced that next year’s editor would be current audio editor Andrea Thiis-Evensen, and preview glimpses of a planned new website were also revealed.

THE WINNERS: most widely read/viewed/heard

  • Most popular story: Sam O’Connell, about vegan activist Greta Neal being ejected from Monash campus
  • Most popular video: Hope Wilson’s coverage of the Commerce Ball.
  • Most popular podcast: Andrea Thiis-Evensen, for her first episode of the Peace and Gender podcast.
  • Most popular story – voted by Mojoncontributors: Salonee Mistry’s story about the “fake” campus rape crisis

THE WINNERS: general

  • Most outstanding editor: Andrea Thiis-Evensen (audio)
  • Most outstanding review: Katrina Williams – Harry Styles and Fangirls
  • Most outstanding interview (any media): Selby Stewart – TV interview with Shayne Hunter. Highly commended: Aiden McNamara.
  • Most outstanding feature story (text): Ed Wong – Sex and the Blockchain
  • Most outstanding sports story: Caroline Tung – first female draftee in the Wheelchair VFL’s Hawthorn team
  • Most outstanding university-based story: Salonee Mistry the “fake” camps rape crisis
  • Most outstanding story published in external media: Matilda Boseley – call for change to liquor laws (The Age)
  • Most outstanding news story (any media): Matilda Boseley + Chester Ngan – live news reports on a police hunt on campus
TV editor Chester Ngan and next year’s Mojo editor, Andrea Thiis-Evensen. Picture: Grace McKinnon Leyton.

THE WINNERS: podcasts and video

  • Most outstanding podcast (episode): Matilda Boseley + Andrea Thiis-Evensen – Grey Matter
  • Most outstanding podcast (series): Andrea Thiis-Evensen – Peace and Gender
  • Most outstanding videography: Lauren Choo – craft beer short documentary
  • Most outstanding video less than 3 minutes: Chester Ngan – Eurydice Dixon’s vigil
  • Most outstanding video more than 3 minutes: Sybilla Gross + Suryan Zaki – homelessness and periods

THE WINNERS: The Struggle

  • Most outstanding performance by a correspondent: Matilda Boseley – as Carly Bernstein
  • Most outstanding segment (script): Joseph Arthur + Nick Clampett + Spencer Fitzroy – sports correspondents on Sam Newman’s Pauline Hanson moment.
  • Most valuable crew member: Amber Schultz


  • Most valuable contributor: Chester Ngan
  • The Gold Mojo  for the most outstanding piece of work: Salonee Mistry

The judges were Corinna Hente, Alicia McMillan, Nick Parkin and Heather Jarvis, with a guest appearance from Wes Hosking.